457 Program

Temporary Work (Skilled) visa (subclass 457) is designed for employers to sponsor skilled migrants in order to fill in immediate and longer term skills shortage. This visa lets a skilled worker to travel to Australia to work in their nominated occupation for their approved sponsor for up to four years.

Applying for a Temporary Work (Skilled) visa (subclass 457) involves three steps that can be undertaken simultaneously.

1. Standard business sponsorship


To become a sponsor, you must be able to show that your business:

  • is a lawfully operating business

  • has no relevant adverse information against your business


In addition, the business will also be required to meet training benchmark or demonstrate an auditable training plan if the business is operating for less than 12 months.


A sponsorship facility is granted for a period of five years with unlimited sponsorship places.  Where a business is operating for less than 12 months, 18 month sponsorship facility is granted


2. Nomination

Nomination is the process of identifying a position to be filled by a foreign employee. In order for the nomination to be approved, the business must demonstrate the following:


  • the skills and experience required for the position

  • the market salary rate for the position and the salary rate to be paid to the prospective overseas employee


There are approximately 400 occupations available which includes professionals, paraprofessionals and trades.


3. Visa


In order to apply for a subclass 457 visa, an applicant must demonstrate:

  • Relevant skills

  • Meet any health character or language requirements

  • Hold applicable registration and licensing


The visa is granted for two or four years.  The duration generally depending on the occupation.

This visa subclass officially closed on 18 March 2018.  It is therefore no longer possible to lodge further 457 nominations or visa applications.  Applicants will need to consider applying for a TSS (Subclass 482) visa to in order to work or remain in Australia.