top of page

Skills Assessment - A Vital Step to Permanent Residency

Due to ongoing changes to the legislative framework of the subclass 457 visa and its impact on permanent employer sponsored visas, it is becoming increasingly important to consider other permanent visa options, such as the Skilled Independent Visa (subclass 189) and the Skilled Nominated Visa (subclass 190). A requirement to proceed for these visa options is to obtain a positive skills assessment in the nominated occupation.

A skills assessment is basically an assessment of your qualification/s and employment history, to evaluate comparability with Australian standards for a skilled worker in a nominated occupation. There are various skills assessing authorities relevant to each occupation and each authority has different criteria in determining whether your skills are suitable for migration. Some of the main skills assessing authorities include but are not limited to:

  • VETASSESS: For generic professional and trade occupations

  • Australian Computer Society (ACS): For all ICT professionals

  • Trades Recognition Australia (TRA): For trades workers

  • Certified Practicing Accountants (CPA) Australia: For accountants

  • Engineers Australia: For engineers of all disciplines

  • Australian Nursing & Midwifery Accreditation Council (ANMAC): For nurses, midwives

  • Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL): For teachers

Some authorities will have an English requirement and work experience requirement, in addition to the qualification requirement. Consequently, the process can be quite complex and expert advice from a Registered Migration Agent can be essential in guiding you through the process.

Contact our team of experienced registered migration agents to obtain comprehensive advice on your skills assessment and permanent residency.

51 views0 comments
Featured Posts
bottom of page