top of page
  • Jenny Murphy MARN 0852535

Skill Select - Understanding the points test system

SkillSelect is the points system framework used by the Australian government to assess the eligibility of skilled workers who are applying for certain types of visas to work and live in Australia. The points system is designed to identify individuals with the skills and attributes in demand in the Australian labor market.

Under the points system, applicants are awarded points based on factors such as their age, English language ability, education, work experience, and other attributes. The total number of points that an applicant is awarded determines their ranking in the points-tested skilled visa program.

The Department of Home Affairs issues invitations on a regular basis to the highest-ranking applicants for the occupations required in the labor market.

There are different types of points-tested skilled visas available, including the Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189), the Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190), and the Skilled Regional (Provisional) Visa (Subclass 491). Each of these visas has different eligibility requirements, and the number of points required to be eligible for these visas can vary.

Overall, the purpose of the points system in Australian migration is to assess the eligibility of skilled workers who are seeking to work and live in Australia and to identify individuals who have the skills and attributes that are in demand in the Australian labor market.

You can obtain further information about the above process by contacting one of our Registered Migration Agents today.

Disclaimer: The information provided herein is of a general nature only and does not constitute immigration advice. For more detailed and case-specific information or advice, please contact SCA Connect.

11 views0 comments


bottom of page